AL Fantasy league

A few days ago I mentioned I was going to try an AL only fantasy league. My league drafted last night and I dont think I made out too bad. The league is a straight rotisserie league with 10 teams.

C- Kenji Johjima
C- AJ Pierzynski
1b- Lyle Overbay
2b- Luis Castillo
3b- Hank Blalock
SS- Julio Lugo
OF- Curtis Granderson
OF- Nelson Cruz
OF- Delmon Young
OF- Nick Markakis
OF- Jason Michaels
U- David Ortiz
U- Andy Marte

SP- Bartolo Colon
SP- Gil Meche
SP- Tomo Ohka
SP- Vincente Padilla
SP- C.C. Sabathia
SP- John Danks
RP- Joe Nathan
RP- Jonathan Papelbon
RP- Pat Neshek

I’m going to have to start Colon on the reserved list and pick someone else up to fill the spot for the time being. Hopefully Sabathia will pull through and Meche will live up to his contract.

This draft was supposed to be a live draft, but only 3 of the 10 owners showed up in the draft room come draft time. It really irks me that people sign up for a live draft but fail to even show up for it. Even if they don’t show up, they still get an auto pick from the best available player. While they may pre-rank their players, it’s still not right that they fail to show up.

I think online sites should change that format. Perhaps they could alternate the auto picks, give them the top pick in one round, and then pick from the bottom of the player pool for the next, and alternate the way through the draft.

While I dislike the autopick, it did allow me to land Jonathan Papelbon in a fairly late round. Now that he’s gone back to the pen he is much more valuable in any fantasy league then he was as a starter, and the auto rank format didn’t show that.

One comment

  1. amuro316@aol.com

    that’s not a bad lineup, overall. I love your catchers, and it NEVER hurts to have Big Papi around. Plus, I’m quite fond of Castillo and Overbay. They’re not glamorous, but they’re solid players that no team would balk at having.

    You have to hope that Sabathia pulls through for you, and that Padilla basically has another year like last year. Colon needs to get healthy, but definitely bring someone else in. Meche is on Kansas City; that’s something that would have me hyperventilating.

    Great ‘pen though. Nathan/Papelbon would make me happy!

Leave a Reply

